Skip to content
Scriben

Ranked, with our position declared

The best AI scribe tools for doctors

If you are a solo clinician or a small practice and you want to set it up yourself, Freed is the answer — it is self-serve, with EHR push and ICD-10 and CPT coding available. If you want to try ambient scribing before involving anyone, Heidi lets you start with standard templates and no sales call. If you are a health system, Abridge is the most widely deployed and Suki names the most EHR integrations. Nabla sits between the two, with an API-first route for organisations building their own.

§Our position, stated. We do not appear in this ranking, and that is deliberate: Scriben’s clinical console is in preview and not available to buy, so it does not belong in a list of things you can purchase today. Every fact below was read off the vendor’s own site, checked on 15 September 2026. Where a vendor does not publish something, this page says so rather than repeating a third-party estimate.

The ranking

5 scribes, in order, and why.

01 / Freed

Individual clinicians, self-serve

  • Into the chart — EHR push available. Coding: icd-10 and cpt coding available.
  • Worth knowing — Built for a clinician to sign up and start alone, and it publishes its full feature set, EHR push and coding included.
  • Against it — Built for individual clinicians and small practices rather than health-system deployment.

02 / Heidi

Clinicians and practices, self-serve

  • Into the chart — Not stated on its site. Coding: listed as a feature.
  • Worth knowing — Standard note templates out of the box, and you can start without a sales call.
  • Against it — Its site does not say which EHRs it writes into, so fit has to be confirmed directly.

03 / Suki

Clinicians, organisations and platform partners

  • Into the chart — Names four: Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth and MEDITECH. Coding: part of the assistant.
  • Worth knowing — The only one of the five that names its EHR integrations explicitly on the homepage, and it offers a developer toolkit for partners.
  • Against it — No self-serve route: evaluation starts with a sales call.

04 / Nabla

Clinicians and organisations

  • Into the chart — "Reliable integrations" stated, no detail given. Coding: not stated.
  • Worth knowing — Offers an API-first route and an embeddable product (Nabla Connect) for organisations building on top of it.
  • Against it — Integration detail is not published, so a solo clinician cannot evaluate it without a sales conversation.

05 / Abridge

Health systems only

  • Into the chart — Deep health-system integrations; enterprise deployment. Coding: part of the enterprise offering.
  • Worth knowing — "Trusted by 300+ health systems" — the most widely deployed enterprise option of the five.
  • Against it — Not sold to individual clinicians at all. If you are a solo practitioner or a small practice, this is not a product you can buy.

Side by side

The same facts, in a table.

Freed
Individual clinicians, self-serve — EHR push available. Coding: icd-10 and cpt coding available. Source: getfreed.ai
Heidi
Clinicians and practices, self-serve — Not stated on its site. Coding: listed as a feature. Source: heidihealth.com
Suki
Clinicians, organisations and platform partners — Names four: Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth and MEDITECH. Coding: part of the assistant. Source: suki.ai
Nabla
Clinicians and organisations — "Reliable integrations" stated, no detail given. Coding: not stated. Source: nabla.com
Abridge
Health systems only — Deep health-system integrations; enterprise deployment. Coding: part of the enterprise offering. Source: abridge.com

All facts checked on 15 September 2026 against each vendor’s own site. Where a vendor does not publish a detail, this table says so rather than quoting an estimate. Products change — check theirs before you buy, and tell us if anything here has gone out of date.

Before any of them

Consent, records and the thing nobody can certify.

Recording a patient encounter is governed by state law, by your professional obligations and by your employer’s policy, and the tool you choose does not change any of them. Fourteen US states require every party to consent; where you and the patient are in different states, assume the stricter rule. Our guide to recording people lawfully sets out which applies where you are. There is no such thing as HIPAA certification, so no vendor on this page holds one and none can — what you should ask for instead is a signed Business Associate Agreement, and confirmation of where audio is processed and how long it is kept. This is general information for practitioners, not medical or legal advice.

Where this comes from

What we make, and why it is not ranked above.

Scriben is a real ballpoint pen that records the room to its own storage for up to 18 hours with no phone and no network. Scriben’s clinical console is in preview and not yet available to buy. The pen ships today at $99; the healthcare workflows described on healthcare.scriben.ai are not live yet. Every tool ranked above is built for the consultation itself; a pen reaches the conversations around it — the corridor handover, the call from the car, the family meeting — which is the part none of them capture. If that is the gap you have, join the healthcare preview; if you need a scribe in the exam room today, buy one of the five above.

Scriben AI Pen$99
Get Scriben